Bread Roll (Zwiebach) Crochet Pattern

I’ve been looking around Ravelry a bit trying to find crochet patterns to use to make some gifts for my nieces and nephews. I thought if I made a bunch of crochet food for Christmas to leave at grandma’s house, that they’d get a laugh out of playing with them every time they came over. While I was browsing around I found this pattern.

http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/cute-bread-amigurumi

Which unfortunately for me is a knit pattern. Since it was free I decided to open it up anyway and see how it was basically constructed. Then I made my own modified pattern to come up with my own shorter double roll.

This is my first time writing a pattern, but I’ll try to make it as clear as possible. Feel free to make these all you want. You can sell them too if you think they’d sell. I just ask that you could put my name somewhere or a reference back to me somewhere if you do.

And if you can’t crochet, but knit, I would strongly suggest trying out the knit pattern that I found above. I’m not sure how knit stitches correlate, but I had to take out a bunch of rows to get the hight that I wanted. In that case once you get to the rows with 40 stitches, you can always just simple it down a few rows if you think it’s the hight you’d like.

ZWIEBACH PATTERN

Supplies:

-bread colored yarn (I used caron simply soft since that’s what I had, which is worsted)

-G hook (I could have used a hook larger, but I thought it created too many holes and I liked the tighter look)

-stitch marker (use for each row unless you are very good at counting and remembering)

-yarn needle

-stuffing

Getting Started

To get started I have grown accustomed to always using the “magic circle” method.

http://www.crochetme.com/forums/t/28917.aspx

I have found it very easy, specially for amigurumi (softies) because you can tighten it like a slip knot so there isn’t a hole with stuffing peeking through.

Pattern

Large Roll

R1: 6sc in the ring and pull it tight (sometimes I find it hard to fit my hook into the first one since it gets tiny, in that case you can have 7sc and just not use the first) (6sc)

R2: 2sc in each stitch around (12 sc)

R3: (1sc, 2sc in next stitch)* repeat (18 sc)

R4: 1sc in each stitch around (18 sc)

R5: (1 sc, 2sc in next stitch)* repeat (27 sc)

R6: 1sc in each stitch around (27 sc)

R7: (1sc, 2sc in next stitch)* repeat until last stitch, 1sc (40 sc)

R8-15: 1sc in each stitch around (40 sc)

R 16: (1sc, sc2tog in next stitch)* repeat (27 sc)

R17: 1sc in each stitch around (27 sc)

R18: (1sc, sc2tog in next stitch)* repeat (18 sc)

R19: 1sc in each stitch around (18 sc)

R20: (1sc, sc2tog in next stitch)* repeat (12 sc)

R21: (sc2tog)* repeat (6sc)

Tie off and tuck in tail.

Small Roll

R1: 6sc in the ring and pull it tight (6 sc)

R2: 2sc in each stitch around (12 sc)

R3: (1sc, 2sc in next stitch)* repeat (18 sc)

R4-7: 1sc in each stitch around (18 sc)

R8: (1sc, sc2tog in next stitch)* repeat (12 sc)

R9: (sc2tog)* repeat (6 sc)

Cut off tail leaving about 12 inches of yarn to sew top roll to bottom roll.

Sewing

Place the “bottoms” of both rolls together. (I think they are the sides that look the worst, otherwise you can pick whichever side) and stitch top roll to bottom. Start with stitches 1/3 of the way up the small roll, don’t start too low or else it won’t be snug. Zwiebach typically have the top roll pushed down into the larger one so when they are separated there is a bit of an indent in the bottom. To get the same look you want it to look like it’s pushing in a little. When you have it attached, tie it off and tuck in the tail.

If you have any questions or comments feel free to share.

Vale.

Leave a Reply

