T-bone Steak Crochet Pattern

After my recent success with the zwiebach (bread roll) I asked my husband if he wanted me to make him anything. Actually I think he kind of demanded I make him something. He always wants more cute stuff. Only seeing as how picky he is and he’d never eat vegetables or anything of the sort, he suggested a steak. Okay sure, I’ll make you a steak sweetie. Only when I looked online I couldn’t really find any patterns for what I was looking for. He said he wanted a raw steak because it would be more recognizable than a “big brown turd”.

So for the sake of pleasing him and for simplicity (I’m not that experienced at crocheting and I’m not really a pattern maker) I came up with this. The pattern involves a bit of sewing with a thread needle and can be a bit confusing, but it isn’t hard to make stitch wise. I’ll try to write it down as best as I can so that it makes sense, but really I think winging it would work too. The finished steak is about 3 1/2″ high and 6″ long.

Supplies

-meaty yarn (I picked a dark red and cream) I used caron simply soft, because that’s what I had (worsted)

-stuffing

-thread needle

Parts

There are several parts to this pattern, the large red area, small red area, and cream areas. The side is created by making a border around both of the pieces once they are assembled. I designed the pieces so they would curve a little. If they are oriented like in my photograph the white piece should swing left as well as the large red piece. Originally I had the small red piece swing left as well, but once it was done I thought it looked better the other way. While you crochet the pattern you will keep turning over the “fabric”, so both sides are worked on. Therefore it doesn’t really have a “right side”. You will need to make 2 of each piece and then stitch them together.

I stitched the two smallest pieces together, than connected them to the larger piece. I did this with both halves.

Large Red Piece (x2)

R1: chain 8 (add 1 chain then flip, whenever you work on both sides you always want to chain an extra one then work on in the second to last stitch when you begin the next row)

R2: sc 8

R3: sc 7, 2 sc in the last stitch

R4: sc 9

R5: 2 sc in first stitch, sc 7, 2 sc in last stitch

R6: sc 11

R7: 2 sc in first stitch, sc 10

R8: sc2tog, sc 9, 2 sc in last stitch

R9: sc 12

R10: sc2tog, sc 9, 2 sc in last stitch

R11: sc 12

R12: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 7, 2 sc in last stitch

R13: sc 11

R14: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 6, 2 sc in last stitch

R15: sc 10

R16: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 5, 2 sc in last stitch

R17: sc 9

R18: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 4, 2 sc in last stitch

R19: sc 8

R20: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 3, 2 sc in last stitch

R21: sc 7

R22: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 2, 2 sc in last stitch

R23: sc 6

R24: sc2tog, sc2tog, sc 1, 2 sc in last stitch

R25: sc 5

R26: sc2tog, sc 1, sc2tog

R27: sc3tog

Tie off. Make sure to make two.

Small Red Piece (x2)

R1: chain 6

R2-6: sc 6

R7: sc 4, sc2tog

R8-10: sc 5

R11: sc 3, sc2tog

R12: sc 4

R13: sc 2, sc2tog

R14: sc 3

R15: sc 1, sc2tog

R16: sc2tog

Tie off. Make sure to make two.

White Piece (x2)

R1: chain 4

R2-4: sc 4

R5: sc 2, sc2tog

R6: sc 3

R7: sc 2, sc2tog

R8-14: sc 2

R15: sc2tog

R16: sc 1

Tie off. Make sure to make two.

Sewing

1) Sew small red pieces to white pieces. You could stitch from behind so that your stitches don’t show as much, but I thought it had a nice “marbled” look to it to have the white spreading into the red.

2) Sew finished piece to large red piece. Match them up as best you can.

Border

On the bottom piece I created a border by single crocheting around the edge through any loops I could find. Try to make sure they are evenly spaced out and you don’t miss a spot. Go around just once and tie off.

On the top piece I did the same thing and went around with a single crochet. Instead of going around just once I went around the border three times and tied off.

Once both pieces have their borders you will put them together and stitch them together. Make sure you leave yourself a 2″ gap to work with while you are stuffing it.

Stuff the inside so it is firm. Don’t make it too puffy.

Once it is stuffed, hold the stuffing in place and finish stitching the sides together.

Now you have a delicious looking steak! Feel free to make this pattern all you want. You may also sell them if you wish. Please just reference back to me in some way.

Vale.

12 thoughts on “T-bone Steak Crochet Pattern

  1. Pingback: Free T-Bone Steak Amigurumi Pattern - free amigurumi patterns daily | free amigurumi patterns daily

  2. Pingback: Play with Your Food: 40 Free Amigurumi Patterns to Crochet Today!

  3. Pingback: Foods - Free Crochet Patterns - Crochet Tutorial

  4. This pattern is great. .I work Ina nursing home for retired sisters and they think the stuff I make is great always tell them where I get the pattern from thank its greatt

      • Thank you, Whitney. I decided to just try it and I grabbed an H. It seems to be working well (I tend to crochet a bit tight and usually use one hook size larger than instructed, so perfect!). Love your steak pattern 🙂

Leave a Reply

