Blood Cell/Grape/Cherry Tomato/Raspberry Crochet Pattern

 

(The six red ones in the bottom right corner are the “SMALL” ones I listed below.)

I’ve been super busy with my new graduate program. I have a new “pattern” so to speak, but really it is from one of my art projects. Whether or not it is helpful to any of you, you’ll have to be the judge of that.

Supplies:

-red yarn (can be any color really)

-G or F hook, whichever works for your yarn. I used an F hook because I wanted my stitches to be closer together than usual.

-scissors

-yarn needle, you don’t really need this, but if it’s easier for you to use, go for it

Blood Cells

R1: 6 sc on magic circle loop (6)

R2: 2 sc in each stitch (12)

R3: 1 sc in each stitch (12)

R4: 1 sc, 2 sc* repeat (18)

R5: 2sctog, 1 sc* repeat (I usually just did this until I ran out of space and tied off)

So that’s the regular (small) cell, I also did several variations of scale and rate of increasing.

Extra Small:

6, 12, 12, 6 (used these for the tiny cells that you can see in the top picture, they don’t indent)

Small:

6, 12, 12, 18, 12, 6 (I used this one the most; also the size I used to make the purple “grapes”)

Medium:

6, 12, 18, 27, 18, 12, 6 (I mostly used these for my larger cells which you can see in the picture)

Large:

6, 12, 12, 18, 18, 27, 27, 18, 12, 6 (didn’t use many of these, they ended up like a tall narrow bowl shape)

As you can see you can really play with the rate of increase, I usually just stuck with decreasing a lot faster than whatever I increased with. The end result will look spherical, but since these aren’t getting stuffed, you can hide the end inside of it and smush it to the desired shape.

I personally think this pattern would be great for making grapes and cherry tomatos as well or leaving them empty and having raspberries. I’ll probably make some food related items when I get the chance, but for now I’m sticking to my art practices.

Feel free to play around with this pattern all you want. As the shape is a basic sphere I can’t pretend to have come up with it, but if you do create anything similar to my artwork with the blood clots please give credit back to me. I varied my own enough from the written pattern that I don’t think it’ll be an issue, but it would still be nice, and that way people can look for other fun patterns. 🙂 And as always, make whatever you want and sell them if you choose. Also, if you have any other great ideas of what to do with this, let me know and I can include it.

Vale.

Leave a Reply

