Crochet Pattern for Knit-It Sheep Kit

For Christmas my twin sister and I got a Knit-It Sheep Kit which allows you to make your very own knit sheep. You can even transform the box into a little fenced in area for your sheep and pretend to send it off to the state fair. While my sister can knit, I can’t, so I decided to make my own crochet sheep. I don’t recall the exact pattern, but it goes something along the lines of the following below. What also makes this pattern a bit tricky is that I used hand made yarn, and not bought hand made yarn, the actual kind I made for the very first time. So it was really lumpy and went all over the place width wise. It was also one ply, which I learned is never a good idea to work with as it rips easily.

First of all, if you’re interested in the original, this is the Knit-It Sheep. I used the smaller brown yarn for the face and my own hand made yarn for the body (it ended up being bulky weight-ish).

 

Crochet Sheep Pattern

Supplies

-Bulky to super bulky weight yarn

-Thin yarn, the kit didn’t say how thin, but it would probably be about fingering or lace weight. [You can always modify by using a thicker yarn and just not going around as many times. I added rows until I got the diameter I wanted. With a thicker yarn (sport weight or worsted) you could probably just go around a couple times and tie off.]

-Stuffing

-Yarn needle

Body

R1: magic circle and add 6 sc – 6

R2: 2 sc in each around – 12

R3: 1 sc, 2 sc in one stitch* repeat – 18

R4: 2 sc, 2 sc in one stitch* repeat – 24

R5-7 (or more if you want it longer in body length): 1 sc around – 24

R8: 2 sc, sc2tog* repeat – 18

R9: 1 sc, sc2tog* repeat – 12

R10: sc2tog* repeat – 6

(End of body, keep working from end to add tail)

R11: Ch 7 (can be longer or shorter if desired)

R12: sc in second from last stitch and sc in each stitch until back at body

Tie off.

Feet x 4

Use two strands of yarn together.

R1: magic circle, add 4 sc – 4

Tie off leaving long tail to sew on.

Face

R1: magic circle, sc 6 – 6

R2: 2sc in each stitch – 12

R3: 1 sc, 2 sc in one stitch* repeat – 18

R4: 2 1sc, 2 sc in one stitch* repeat – 24

(Keep going until desired diameter for face)

Tie off when long tail when done and sew on.

Ears

R1: magic circle, sc 6 – 6

R2: 2sc in each stitch – 12

Tie off with long tail and flatten before sewing.

Sewing

Sew the legs, ears, and face on and then decorate as desired. I made my facial features on the face, but I think the eyes could have looked better a bit higher or maybe with buttons.

The pattern doesn’t look much like the kit, but I had a lot of fun making it.

As always, feel free to use this pattern and adapt it if you want. You can sell them or gift them, just make sure to leave a reference back to me in some way.

Vale.

4 thoughts on “Crochet Pattern for Knit-It Sheep Kit

  1. Hello, i read your blog occasionally and i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses? If so how do you reduce it, any plugin or anything you can advise? I get so much lately it’s driving me mad so any support is very much appreciated.

  2. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement? My site has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either authored myself or outsourced but it seems a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any ways to help protect against content from being ripped off? I’d definitely appreciate it.

    • I’d say first of all, if you’re concerned about something which could be profitable (to you or someone else), get your patterns or articles copyrighted officially. Personally I think the best way to keep material off of the internet is to limit what is available from your end. If it’s a photo, make it a small image, if it’s a pattern, don’t include the steps, just images, etc. Technically you could legally pursue every case of copyright infringement, but you’d have to prove first and foremost that the content was yours originally (some sort of federal time stamp works best, you can even mail something to yourself to prove it). At the end of the day it’s almost next to impossible to gain anything from going after people who plagiarize, in fact it can cost you a lot of money to pursue just to have nothing gained.

      So long story short, if you’re worried about content leaking, try to minimize your own digital footprint. People can still scan or upload information online, but it’ll be much harder if it isn’t already available online. I hate to say that, as it makes it sound like I’m victim blaming, which I’m not. There just aren’t too many feasible options out there. As for me, I haven’t noticed a problem, but I also haven’t looked to see if anyone else is crediting my patterns. Everything I post online I do so knowing that people will want to find a way to get it easier and for less, so I make my patterns free and post them on websites like Ravelry. Ultimately I just want people to enjoy my content, then again, I’m not making a living out of it, and that can make a huge difference.

      Best of luck with your problems.

Leave a Reply

