Crochet Telephone Pattern

crochet telephone

Because of the massive amount of snow and cold that hit the Midwest these last couple of days, I’ve decided to hunker down and crochet this weekend rather than going into the studio to work. Which means I have a bit of free time I can dedicate to transcribing my awful notes into something that hopefully someone can use to make their own crochet telephone.

So usually when I make a pattern I take very detailed notes of what I’m doing because I know that I’ll be sharing the pattern online. With this project I was just in freestyle crochet mode and wasn’t really writing down much. As such these directions are going to be very loose and may or may not be completely accurate to what I made. They should give you a good starting off point though.

Supplies

-yarn (I just used some cruddy old yarn I had laying around, like a worsted weight red heart type of yarn from a garage sale)

-hook that goes well with yarn size (I only had a D hook in my studio, so that’s what I used, but typically I would have used a G hook for this type of yarn)

-yarn needle

-scissors

-patience and flexibility

Telephone Ear and Mouth Pieces x 2

R1: use the magic circle technique and sc 6 – 6sc

R2: 2sc in each stitch – 12 sc

R3: 1 sc, 2sc in next stitch* repeat – 18 sc

R4: 2 1sc, 2sc in next stitch* repeat – 24 sc

R5: 3 1sc, 2sc in next stitch* repeat – 30 sc

R6-10: sc in each stitch around – 30 sc

Tie off and tuck in loose end.

Telephone Handle

R1: ch 14 (ch 1 more to flip) – 14

R2: 2sc, sc in each stitch, sc one more in last sc (ch 1 more to flip, you’ll do this for each row) – 16 sc

R3: 2sc, sc in each stitch, sc one more in last sc – 18 sc

R4: 2sc, sc in each stitch, sc one more in last sc – 20 sc

R5-R10: continue adding two stitches each row

R11: sc2tog, sc in each stitch except last, sc2tog

R12-20: continue subtracting two stitches each row

Stitch last row to first row so you have a tube.

Go ahead and sew the mouth and ear piece to the tube on both ends and stuff it as you go. You may need to gather in the ear and mouth pieces as you stitch them on. Try to do this evenly so it doesn’t all gather in one spot.

Telephone Base

So the telephone base is essentially a squishy box. I didn’t take notes really for this part, but it should be really easy to complete on your own. Now that you have your phone stitched together you have a general idea of how big the box needs to be.

I made mine about 8 1/2 to 9 inches tall, about 4 inches wide, and 2 inches deep. Some telephone bases curve a bit, but I went for a simple box. For my telephone I started with a long edge and chained enough stitches to get about 8 or 9 inches. Depending on your phone and gauge, you may need to do yours bigger or smaller.

Now that you have your chain, continue to do single crochets back and forth until you get the full width of the phone base.

So I hate piecing pieces together, so I decided to do a sc around the whole edge of the phone, so I started by making another row, and then when I got to a corner I’d do 2sc right before the corner, and 2sc right after it so it would fan a bit, then I’d sc around the next edge, another two sets of 2sc around the next corner, and repeated until I got to my beginning again.

From here on out I just did sc around until I got a depth of about 1 1/2 to 2 inches. Then I tied off my end.

For the bottom of the base I did the same as with the front to get the same length and width, only I didn’t add the sides like with the first. Once you get these two pieces, stitch them together and stuff as you go.

Telephone Cord

This was probably my favorite part. I made a snowman ornament over Christmas where the author of the pattern said to make a little scarf for the guy and it made a curly little line. I thought this technique would just be perfect for a whole cord. Basically you ch a lot. I made my chain about the length from my fingertips to my chest. You could always make it longer, like your whole arm span.

Once you have it chained all you do is 2sc in each stitch back until you’re at the start again. Super easy and it’s adorable.

Attach the cord to the bottom of the phone by the mouth piece (honestly their the same, so just pick a side). Then attach the other end of the cord to a short side of the phone.

Telephone Buttons

For the telephone buttons I just took another color of yarn and made big stitches and “embroidered” squares onto the front. You want three columns and four rows that fit between the space of the mouth and ear pieces.

Telephone Hook x2

Not really sure what to call this piece, but it’s the little area where you hang the ear piece up onto the base so it doesn’t slide off. I just made two little flaps and then stitched the phone onto the base using these.

I didn’t count really, just ch enough stitches to get about 1 inch across, then keep doing rows until you have about 1 1/2 to 2 inches. Stitch it onto the phone base with enough room to “hang up” the phone. Then stitch the phone onto the two flaps so it’ll stay on.

I also stitched the mouth piece to the base where it would normally hang next to it. I wanted to hang it up and know it wasn’t going to be flopping around.

Now you should have a super awesome “retro” phone. Remember, I attached my phone to its base, but you don’t have to do that. You could even put a magnet in it if you want it to stay up without stitching. Then your kids could play with it. 🙂

IMG_1274 IMG_1275 Whitney Bandel telephone

Feel free to make this pattern all you want. You can sell them or gift them as well, just leave a reference back to me in some way. I love seeing other people make my stuff, so if you do make it and want to share I’d love to see your photos. Happy crocheting!

Vale.

Leave a Reply

